Summer Adventure: Flying away from here!

Let me begin by saying that I want to scream of excitement as I’m writing this!! I’m a total nerd when it comes to this stuff but this summer I get to do something I’ve always wanted to do!!

It became official earlier today when I booked my flight for my very first volunteer trip! Yes, this excites me for many reasons!

One, this is a dream for me. I’ve always wanted to go abroad (anywhere) to do volunteer work. I’m very happy I get to do it very close to home in Latin America. I will be helping a group of Houston teachers rebuild a school and teach English in Nicaragua!!!!! Another reason, well I get to get out of the United States for the first time in nearly 4 years! I will be away for 2 weeks, which has never happened. I’m completely in love with my work but I’m excited to be able to disconnect from it for a couple of weeks and focus my attention on something completely different. Although, I must admit I have this idea of going to Nicaragua gathering up some teens and talk to them about healthy dating. I’ll let you know how that goes!!!

I think traveling is such a wonderful experience especially if you do it with a purpose. I completely love the idea of emerging yourself in a foreign country, learn about a different culture, meet new people, try different foods and breathe a different air. I’m very lucky to have a wonderful boss like Kelly who understands my curiosity and my eagerness to live outside of a box. She understands I cannot sit still in one place for too long and is very supportive when my eagerness to get out of the box kicks in! If I could be an animal I would have to a bird to be able to fly everywhere, I could never be caged in one place.

I have always loved the idea to run free and experience the world and its wonderfulness. It’s an adventure I don’t want to just hear about it, I want to see it, feel it, smell it… live it!

2 thoughts on “Summer Adventure: Flying away from here!

Add yours

  1. Thanks for putting your thoughts into words everyone can read. The passion you have to write illuminates with every word. Continue to keep flying and sharing what you’ve been blessed with!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

