Mi semana Cabrona… and my I believe

7 Oct

Let me start by saying that I’ve missed Frida’s Cafe tremendously.  There are certain things that have taken priority in my crazy life lately but I promise to come back very soon with more content and a few surprises! So please stay around and tuned for a much needed it makeover. 

P.S. English version of the last couple of columns I wrote for La Voz are coming soon!

Ok, now to what i like to believe it’s the good stuff..


Survival, that’s what I believe in.

This week’s theme has been survival for many different reasons.

It has been non-stop since the weekend. I will finally agree with what most people say, “You are always so busy.” Acceptance is the first step to recovery, right? It has become a bit of a challenge to not be busy, but I’m slowly learning to slow it down a bit… not this week though!

As some of you may know, one of my responsibilities at the Women’s Center is to coordinate media interviews/stories. Ever since I arrived at the agency I’ve made it my goal to work closely with reporters and help produce compelling stories especially during awareness months. Oh yes, FYI October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month!

It’s Thursday night and it has been a hell of a week and I mean that in the most positive way possible. !Una semana Cabrona!!! It hasn’t been easy to coordinate interview after another and listen to 5 survivors tell their story for the first time but this is one of the reasons I thoroughly enjoy what I do for a living.

Listening to the survival stories of these 5 women has been truly inspiring to me.  It is heart breaking to learn about their pain and suffering but so refreshing to listen to how they feel today.

“I feel like a bird. FREE to fly anywhere,” one of them said at the end of one of the interviews. That’s all I need to hear to know there is hope! These women are all strong, independent, resilient, and surviving.  Unknown heroes we all need to know about!

Our survival should never depend on anyone but ourselves. We have so much power to push hard and move forward through so much crap we are faced with. We really are amazing human beings and it kills me when I meet someone that doesn’t believe in that. Yes, there are key components that help us get through, our families, friends, etc, but at the end of the day that power starts from within.

We should never minimize anyone else’s struggle because it is impossible to really understand it unless we walk in that person’s shoes. I’ve been told my life is “easy” twice this week, the comment comes right after the person finds out I’m single and have no kids. The road to this “easy” life hasn’t been easy but I’ve managed to make the best of it and stood right up when my ass fell down.

We all have our own survivor story. We survive every day. Survival is all around us. We do it with our children. We do it in our work. We do it without even thinking about it. Think about your survival story and give your self-credit for it.

I’ve told you what I believe in, I hope you find the time to tell me what you believe in!

I believe campaign... You should do it!

Thanks for coming back to Frida’s Café!

Leave a Reply

