California love!

To sit still…  that was one of my main goals for this trip! I hardly ever do sit still, I’m always going, coming, doing, running!

This year has been a great year but it has been non-stop, one thing after another. I’m thankful for all the wonderful things I’ve been able to do and new friends in my life but there’s a point when one needs to slow down, evaluate and recharge.

That’s the plan for the next few days! I arrived in San Francisco on Wednesday to beautiful windy weather. It wouldn’t have matter if it was raining or snowing I was just happy to be in a different city. I fell in love with Cali when i drove on hwy 1 a couple of years ago. It is one of the most beautiful, most refreshing and liberating drives of my life! 

I arrived at the hostel where I booked 2 nights praying and hoping all would be alright since this was my first American hostel experience by myself. Yes, I decided to book the hostel mostly for the experience and of course for the money! I’m a traveler on the cheap! The video on their website didn’t lie, the place was everything and more than what I expected!

Hostelling international has hostels all over the world and is rated as one of the best. Yes, I did quite a bit of research and read a bunch of reviews on Yelp! I stayed in a 4 shared with 3 other women. Fiona from England, Tina from Ukraine and the third was from Chile but I never got a chance to meet her. My Mom’s reaction when I told her I was going to be sharing the room, “you mean strangers? Ay Frida! Please be careful, women can be crazy too.”  

I didn’t know what to expect but it wasn’t bad at all. I got a chance to talk to Fiona more, since the others left before me. Fiona has been traveling around the world for the last 10 month! She decided to quit her job in England and do what she loves, travel! She flew from Sidney, Australia to Cali and before that she visited Nepal, Vietnam and other countries we didn’t get to talk about. Oh, did I mention she has been traveling on her own?

My little 7-day getaway doesn’t compare to her world travels but it’s a good start! She inspired me to make my plan to one day do the same possible. I want to just get up and go see the world. I don’t want to hear or read about it, I want to see it, feel it and experience it!

Fiona says is the best way to learn about other cultures, learn about you and appreciate what you have or don’t have. I completely agree with her, I believe traveling can open up our eyes to new perspectives and bring to light so much about ourselves

The last couple of days have been perfect! I’ve eaten food I don’t usually eat, got lost in the streets of San Francisco, ran across a beautiful bridge, savored Italian sweets, had a tasty Irish coffee, walked into jail cells of a famous penitentiary, and enjoyed great conversation with my good friend Carlitos. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also sat still in different corners of the city. My favorite as I waited for Carlitos to pick me up was 4th and king, a very busy intersection where people move really fast at 5:30pm. It was great to sit there and watch everyone else move around me. It felt good not be the one rushing to get somewhere. I saw a Mom carefully cross the street with her baby, business men in suits and on their phones, a homeless man trying to find a warm corner, a couple holding hands running to get to catch the train, and cars honking from different direction.

There I was sitting, just seeing and taking everything in… it felt good and relaxing!

I suggest you get out of your everyday box once in while, get out of it on your own and experience something new. Traveling alone can be a liberating experience! I believe everyone should do it at least once! 

Someone once told me we are always on a waiting period, “I’ll wait until I get a better job, I’ll wait until I save enough money, I’ll wait until get married, I’ll wait until my kids grow up, I’ll wait …”

Fiona’s advice… “You should never wait to do something you love.”

I couldn’t agree more!

I’m off to my next stop…

6 thoughts on “California love!

Add yours

  1. Taking a few moments, hours or days to stay still and decompress are necessary, especially if you work in a high-stress job the way you do. It’s also necessary to renew your creativity and your productivity.

    You deserve the break. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

