In April…

Every 2 minutes someone is sexually assaulted in the United States. This means that while I write this someone is being assaulted- a woman, a child or a man. By the time you finish reading this someone life will be changed forever.

Rape is not something you just get, rape is not something you just understand. Even the best advocate doing this work will never be able to fully understand what rape really means to a victim unless that person has experienced it.

Cassandra Thomas describes what rape meant to women who started the Anti-Rape movement…

“…that was not sex that happened to me. I felt like I was being murdered. It was just pain, brutal, tearing pain, like someone was breaking me down. Why does this happen to me? Why doesn’t anyone understand me? Why doesn’t anyone believe me?” 

These loud voices started the Anti-Rape movement 146 years ago. This group of African-American women stared talking about how they were being raped by white men and began to share what rape meant to them.

I’m sharing this for several reasons.

Because it effects me as a woman

Because 9 out o of 10 rape victims are female-

Because 97% of rapists will never spend a day a jail

 I’m sharing this because it sucks that every 2 minutes someone is sexually assaulted.

I’m sharing this because I have nieces, and nephews who are growing up in a rape culture that perpetuates rape.

I’m sharing this because I’ve wonder what I would do if it happened to me? Where would I go? What would I say?

I’m sharing this because April is Sexual Assault Awareness month. These are my humbled 2 cents to the movement and to hoping one day we do not have to worry about young girls and boys being raped.

The below is an excerpt from Cassandra’s keynote speech from the Texas Association Against Sexual Assault. Her words revived my passion of this work and helped me understand the movement that I’m trying to be a part of. 

Voices of a movement

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

