Soul Mates

“A soul mates purpose is to shake you up, tear apart your ego a little bit, show you your obstacles and addictions, break your heart open so new light can get in, make you so desperate and out of control that you have to transform your life, then introduce you to your spiritual master…” — Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love)

Five years today I met a soul mate that did just that and I’m thankful for him. It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon when I decided to go to my favorite coffee shop Brasil. I went to do some writing before meeting friends and across my table sat a man whose eyes captured me. As I walked out of the coffee shop he walked behind me, complimented my colorful summer dress and introduced him self (in that order). He was bold, charming, and beautiful and I liked it. The rest is life-changing history.

Shortly after I met him  and like a teen girl called my mother excited and told her, “mami acabo de conocer al hombre de mi vida.” (Mom, I just met the man of my life!!!)… She laughed!!!

The book Eat, Pray, Love helped me understand so much and opened my eyes to a whole new perspective. I never thought we could have more than one soul mate and now I know we can.

In a nutshell, is a book about a married woman who realizes how unhappy her marriage really is, and that her life needs to go in a different direction. After a painful divorce, she takes off on a round-the-world journey to “find herself”.

But this post is not about the book but soul mates that can come into our life just like he did that Sunday afternoon.

“People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that is holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life.” Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love)

This soul mate pushed me to get out of my shell. He opened my eyes to a potential I didn’t understand I had. No, it wasn’t always perfect but soul mates aren’t supposed to be perfect. Soul mates will always be the same and will not change even if you try.  You have to learn how to accept their flaws and know that they may not be exactly how you want them to be. Like the first quote says, “make you so desperate and out of control that you have to transform your life.” A soul mate will drive you crazy, will break your heart and leave you a transformed person. Many times I tried to rebel against him and his beliefs (I still do). I always wanted to be right and wanted to be loved in a certain way, my way. Now I understand, people can only love you the only way they can and as much as you want them to change that, they won’t. If they try, it will never work. Never set your expectations high.

My soul recognized him as a soul mate before I ever did. He shook my comfort, heart and soul. How do you recognize a soul mate? Your heart will tell you. The connection you have with this person will be like no other. He will sweep you off your feet and bring you back to earth when need it. This person will ground you when you are flying to high. This person will know when to stay quite, when to speak and when to just hold you. This person will recognize when you are sad and when joy takes over you heart. This person will support your journey and will know when is time to let it go.

Soul mates do not have people you fall in love with, a soul mate can be friend, a mother, father, a grandmother etc.

There will be moments you wish you never met him, you will wish things were different but always remember things always happen the way they are supposed to.

“True soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then leave. “ Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love)

Your soul mate will touch your life in a magical way. A soul mates will reveal things about yourself you didn’t know. A soul mate will drive you to places of transformation, comfort and even hell. At times you will try to fight it, deny it and sometimes hate it. The walls you put up will be torn down even if you resist.

You should never try to hold on to a soul mate forever. There will be times you will have to let go. Soul mates are not meant to stay with you forever, they come, they do and then they go.

Thank your soul mate, love him, learn from him but never be afraid to let go. I had to let go of mine. You may ask, but what if I miss him? Because you will miss him. And I will answer  with my favorite quote… So miss him. Send him some love and light every time you think about him, then drop it.”Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

