4 years

I wrote the post below 3 years ago- somethings have changed and others remain the same. One thing i’ve learned is that we work for people and it is people that truly make a difference in our jobs. It is great to have people who push, support, validate and encourage you. I’ve been lucky to meet wonderful people in my line of work and of course there are those who just make things that much more interesting. 

Jobs are what you make of them but they should never make you. I’ve learned so much while working at the Women’s Center, grown as a professional and also as a Woman. I’ve learned so much about myself and things that I really care for. I’ve also learned that it is good to take a step back and disconnect from your daily work.

It is good to disconnect from emails, meetings and deadlines.

It is good to work in different spaces other than your office.

It is good to have early breakfasts with friends right before going into the office.

It is good to learn more about those you work with- it is good to learn from them.

It is good to leave the office and have outside lunches.

It is good to take time to reflect, evaluate and allow evolution to come in. 

It is good to get out of your box once in a while and see the bigger picture.

It is good to be open to change.

It is good be challenged.

It is good to speak up and let your voice be heard.

It is good to be be passionate about your work but do not allow it to run your life.

Life is too good to be spent in an office, in meetings or working projects. Love the work  you do, but never forget to also love your life outside of it. 

Original post from May 30, 2011

This is what a ‘calling’ is

“That is what a ‘calling’ is.  It lights you up and lets you know that you’re exactly where you’re supposed to be.  Doing exactly what you’re supposed to be doing.” Oprah

Three years today I began doing exactly what I was supposed to do at the Houston Area Women’s Center. I didn’t quite know what I was getting myself into but I’m so happy I did. I found a passion, inspiration, motivation and change. I’ve changed and I’m becoming the woman I want to be.

I’ve always been driven passion and the power I believe we all have to make a difference. This isn’t a just a job for me, it has become the love and inspiration of my life. Here I’ve met the most wonderful women I will probably ever meet, the strongest, and most courageous.

And what do we at the women’s center? We empower, educate and strive to change the violent society we live in.

What do I do? One of my main goals is to use media to educate, change and reach those we wouldn’t be able to otherwise. And so much more I won’t go into detail.

One of my goals in life was to find something I truly loved doing and thankfully I have. The beautiful thing about it is that this is a passion I can always have with me even if I decide to leave this agency. I can carry it on with me and always do something to contribute and change. No, I’m not going anywhere any time soon but if ever did I know that this work could be done anywhere. Unfortunately, violence against women will not end any time soon but I know that I can be part of the change.

Once you find your true calling, it will never leave your side if you follow what your heart tells you. Money can only give you so much but if you are not truly happy doing what you love is not really worth it.

Nobody but you is responsible for your life. You are responsible for your life…. you’re responsible for the energy you create for yourself, and you’re responsible for the energy that you bring to others.” Oprah

Never allow yourself to depend on anyone. Your happiness is your responsibility and not anyone else’s. You never want to give someone that much power over you, if you do you end up losing yourself. Don’t wait for someone to complete you. You should always be the driver. You should never let anyone hold you back from what you love.

Find something that makes you tick and motivates you to wake up in the mornings. Find something that gives your fulfillment, joy and a sense of adventure. Find something that challenges you and wakes up your creativity. Find something that makes you want to be better and encourages searching for hidden talents you didn’t realize you had.

“Start embracing the life that is calling you. Find your calling—know what sparks the light in you so you in your own way so that you can illuminate the world.” Oprah

I’m happy to say I found a calling that does light me up and makes me shine like no other. I know this is exactly where I’m supposed to be and I’m doing exactly what I’m supposed to be doing… I’m happy!

“Everybody has a calling, and your real job in life is to find it.”

3 thoughts on “4 years

Add yours

  1. The light shines even brighter when you find your calling.Continue to do what you do in the lives of those whom are in need! A blessing to many.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

