Fundraiser 4 Nica. Children: Photos for a good cause!

Last summer I had one of the best experiences of my life when I traveled to Nicaragua.  It was just what I needed. It was my Eat, Pray, and Love. 

You can read some of  the highlights of the trip here!

Shortly after the trip we got together to talk about the project and the possibilities of doing more.  The project was a great success last summer and we felt we could do so much for the children, the teachers and the parents.  The group decided to create a non-profit and began doing research on how to do it. 

Fast forward to this year, the project is now Amigos for Learning.  A Non-Profit organization with the mission to help children in need throughout Latin America by supporting and educating their communities and aiding their school’s educational needs. 

This summer I will be making my way back to Granada with a small group of volunteer to distribute supplies and work on another school in the small district.

The group has done several fundraisers this year including creating calendars with photos of the children. I’m putting in my two cents to help the organization purchase uniforms and to make sure there’s enough supplies for the over 500 kids we will visit.  I’m taking photos for a good cause! I’m offering 1-hour photo shoots for 50 dollars for the next couple of weeks.  The money will help Amigos4Learning purchase items for the students.  

50 dollars can go a LONG way in Nicaragua! 

$20= child’s Uniform (pants/shirt) + shoes + notebook

$15= Full breakfast, lunch and dinner for a child

$10= snacks for a class of 25+

$5 = Notebook, pencils, ruler, and color pencils

The average daily wage in Nicaragua is only 4 dollars a day.  A teacher makes between 150 and 200 dollars a year, the same as a university education per year.

I really hope you consider doing a photo shoot and help Amigos4Learning help the children in Granada. Here are a few of those kids you could help.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check out some of my most recent photos. I’ve done shoots for couples, weddings, graduates, pregnancies, headshots and small families. I like to do shoots outside either on early morning or late afternoon.  

Here are a few dates for you to consider:

June 16  + 17 at 8am

June 23 + 24 at 8am, 5:30pm, 6:45pm

June 30 + July 1 at 8am, 5:30pm, 6:45pm

Weekday evenings can be coordinated depending on my work schedule. You will receive full res photos on a CD within a week.  I hope you consider doing a shoot.-I promise you the money will be put to good use. If you are interested please email me at fridascafe@gmail.com or simply share this post with your friends.

Mil Gracias!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

