The last 10 days and why I volunteer in another country

Today was our last day at San Diego for two of us and the goodbye was as warm as the welcome. The last ten days were very busy and rewarding. Our group was able to distribute supplies to all 5 schools in the district, installed a water tank and bookshelves in San Diego. Amigos 4 Learning also provided uniforms along with shoes to four 6th graders going on to 7th grade next year.

The water tank is a huge improvement to the school because they do not have constant running water. The tank will not only serve the students but also their small community. The uniforms were provided to the outgoing 6th graders because they will be required to have uniforms when they move to 7th grade next school year.  These are basic needs that we may take for granted in the U.S. but the community here were so appreciative of what Amigos has been able to accomplish.

We also got a chance to spend a lot of time with some of the kids and their parents. There were a few who came by everyday and helped. The kiddos were always happy to do activities with us.  They kept me pretty busy!! 

We choose to do certain things for certain reasons.  There are many reasons why I choose to come on this trip.  There are so many things I can do with my time and money but coming to a country like Nicaragua reminds me of home.

I know there are great needs in the U.S. but I also know there are more resources available in comparison to places like Nicaragua. Yes, some have a very difficult time making in the United States but I truly believe the opportunity to advance and to get help is at a closer reach.

I returned here because I fell in love with the kids. Those kids remind me of who I am and where I come from. It reminds me of the importance of every single opportunity and privilege I have in the U.S. It is also a reminder of how my life would have been if I had stayed.   Kids here as well as in my country stop going to school because they do not have a pair a shoes to walk to school, some have to work with mom and dad to be able to eat, others don’t think school is important because everyone else around them didn’t have to go.  Kids here need to know they can succeed and live outside the box of what has been established. I believe real change can begin by teaching the youth the difference and help prevent so many negatives that affect their society.

I travel here because I was one of those kids and I want them to be able to see what I have seen. I want them to believe in their own potential and hopefully one-day help another child that may need their guidance. I am here because I believe in change. 

My goal is to one day to do the same in El Salvador! 

More photos!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

