Letters to my Baby: You are coming with the new year!

Gael- 8 months

Español

My dear Gael,

A few weeks ago I was able to see your little face thanks to our latest ultrasound. You are one handsome boy! You weight about 4 pounds and will probably reach 8 by the time you are born. It was exciting to your facial features and movements on screen. It’s looks like you will have my lips and nose. I don’t think your Dad was too happy about that!!  I couldn’t stop smiling when I walked out the doctor’s office. I was thankful everything looks good.

I must admit that one of my fears every time I go to the doctor is to hear something it’s not right. This isn’t because I’m being negative but because your aunt Diana had a painful loss after her first pregnancy. Her first baby, Malaya, only lived 3 short months due to a genetic disorder. It was very difficult for our family but especially for her and your grandmother. I pray every time I go to the doctor and I’m so thankful all is going well so far.

This is not my only fear. The same day we had our visit there was a horrible massacre at an elementary school in Connecticut. 26 people including 20 kids were killed by a 20 year old.

It is heart breaking to imagine the pain those parents are feeling and the powerlessness of not being able to do anything to avoid such tragedy.

Gael, we do not live in a perfect world and there will always be people who hurt others. It is always difficult to understand why but I do believe tragedies like this one could be prevented if we, as a society did more.

Violence has its causes and it is always by choice. We live in a society where violence has become the norm. We see it everywhere and some opt by raising their children with violence.

I want you to know that violence isn’t the answer and you always have the power to choose. As you grow up I know you will have a lot of questions and doubts but I promise to speak with the truth even if it’s difficult. Don’t ever be afraid to ask me questions or to tell me what’s in your mind. I’m sure I will be shocked more than once with your questions but that’s okay.

The New Year and you will soon make their grand entrance. It is exciting and a bit nerve racking. At the end of each year I like to reflect on all the good and the lessons the year has brought me. Looking back at the beginning of this year it seems as if I bought my self a ticket to an unknown destination. The journey has been quite the adventure and it is not over!

My goals for the New Year have always been centered on my career and personal plans. This year everything changes with you. Now, everything revolves around you mister!

It is impossible to be fully prepared for a baby’s arrival but I’m doing the best I can to get ready. My wish for the New Year is that you are born healthy and everything else will eventually fall into place. For now, I’m thankful for all the blessings and lessons this year has given me and anxiously wait for your arrival.

Te adora,

Tu Mami

 

Photo by Carlos Avila Gonzalez
Photo by Carlos Avila Gonzalez

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

