Letters to my baby: You are almost here

Your crib
Your crib

Español

My Dear Gael,

The new year arrived and very soon you will also make your grand entrance. We are very close to reaching 10 months and the count down has begun. Doctor says it could happen at any day now. I cannot believe I will soon see your little face and will be able to hug you. Every time I say your name you respond with a kick. I love feeling each one of your moves and I like to think you recognize my voice. It is truly incredible how quickly time has passed and how things have changed since the day I realized you were growing inside of me. Your father and I are anxious to meet you. Your crib is ready (mommy put it together all on her own) and my closet is now filled with your clothes.

with your grandmother
with your grandmother

You received lots of presents at the baby shower your grandma hosted for you. Almost everything you have are presents from friends and family. The baby shower with my family was so much fun. Soon you will meet them. Your grandma Dora has 4 kids, two boys and two girls- aunt Diana, uncle Carlos and Jose. You have 4 cousins: Malaya who is in heaven, Javion, Aris and Todd.  Your great grandmother and the woman who raised me until I was 13 is Antonia Luisa but I call her Tota. She has 7 kids, 6 girls and 1 boy.  Oh and I have about 14 cousins. They are all very loving but a bit disfunctional which is how families usually are. My family is small in comparison to your father’s.

Ready or not Photo by Carlos Avila Gonzalez
Ready or not
Photo by Carlos Avila Gonzalez

Gael, I’m eager to see you but there are moments I get anxious about how everything will be once you arrive. I wonder how your birth will be, the pain and I pray everything will be just fine. I also think about possible complications and everything else I cannot control. I am trying to get everything i can ready but i know it is impossible to truly be ready for a baby’s arrival. I get a bit nervous and scared to think about everything but I’m so looking forward to listening to your first cry.

My life changed the day I found out about you and it will change even more after you arrive. There is no day that goes by that I do not think of you and the future ahead. I wonder about how you will be and who you will look like. Your Dad wants you to look like him but I’m doubtful. He dreams of the future and the possibility you could be the next president of the United States. He jokes about you being the son who will be take care of him when he is old and gray.

My dear Gael, there will be a moment in life when you will realize the world is yours and the possibilities are endless. You have the power to create your own destiny by way of your decisions and lessons learned. You can reach any goal if you set your mind to it and work really hard. Humility, respect and honesty will mold the man you will become. Your spirit and passion for the things you love will be your engine. I will be there at the beginning of your journey to guide your steps and will try to show you the tools for when you have to walk it alone. The limit to your potential depends on you so don’t ever sell yourself short.  It will be a while before I have to worry about this, for now my only priority is that you are born healthy. I cannot promise you much right now but can assure you that I will love you with all my heart, spirit and soul for the rest of my life.

Te adora tu mami,

Frida

2 thoughts on “Letters to my baby: You are almost here

Add yours

  1. I am so happy for you. I am so happy for Gael for having you as a mom. I know God has great plans for you and Gael. I can’t wait to meet him too. Much love my dear Friday…..

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

